Some usher in the new year with champagne, some head to bed early, while others flock to designated firework zones. 

If you’re part of the latter group, here’s the full schedule for what’s happening on New Year’s Eve across every state capital.

Of course, if you can’t get to your local fireworks event in person but are keen to start the new year with a bang, you can follow the ABC’s exclusive broadcast of the Sydney Harbour fireworks on ABC TV and iview from 8.30pm (AEDT).

Jump to see what’s happening in your capital city (all times are local):


New Year’s Eve celebrations in Sydney will begin with a smoking ceremony at 7:30pm, conducted aboard the Tribal Warrior, Mari Nawi and Wirawi vessels to cleanse the harbour of negative spirits in preparation for the new year.

From 8:30pm, specially created images, visuals and lighting effects will illuminate the Sydney Harbour Bridge and its pylons.

Inspired by the colours of the sun and moon, the bridge will light up in hues of white, peach, lime, silver, gold, violet, yellow, burnt orange, pink, and blue.

At 8:57pm, a Welcome to Country will be given by members of the Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council prior to the first round of fireworks at 9pm.

The early fireworks session is produced by We Are Warriors and will be a celebration of sky, land, and sea country.

The sky over Sydney Harbour will become a canvas for fireworks, pyrotechnics and synchronised music.(City of Sydney: Daniel Tran)

The city will also welcome a number of vessels adorned with lights as they glide across the harbour.

And finally at the stroke of midnight, an exhilarating 12-minute firework spectacle will begin.

More than 8.5 tonnes of fireworks will be launched from six water-based platforms, five city building rooftops, four pontoons as well as the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House.

A list of 49 ticketed and free vantage points to watch the fireworks from can be found on the Sydney New Year’s Eve website.

You can also find information about road closures and public transport options on the website.

Fireworks displays will also be held in Parramatta, Wollongong, Newcastle, and Wagga Wagga, among others.


New Year’s Eve festivities in Melbourne will centre around four celebration zones set up across the city.(Supplied: City of Melbourne)

Melbourne will ring in 2024 with two fireworks celebrations, a five-minute display at 9:30pm and an eight-minute display at midnight.

Four Celebration Zones will be set up in Docklands, Flagstaff Gardens, Kings Domain, and Treasury Gardens which are accessible at no cost and play host to food trucks, installations and live performances.

These zones are open from 6pm to 1am.

The City of Melbourne says the midnight fireworks display, which will be fired off from 27 rooftops across the city, is designed to be viewed from afar and advises that “skyline views from further away provide the best show”.

About 400,000 people are expected to make their way to Melbourne’s CBD for the New Year celebrations, with free public transport operating from 6pm on New Year’s Eve to 6am on New Year’s Day.

Metropolitan trams, trains and buses will be free, along with regional buses and V/Line services and you won’t need a myki ticket to travel.

People attending the celebrations are strongly encouraged to use public transport and plan ahead.

Following reports of crowd crushing in the CBD during last year’s celebrations, several roads and walkways will be closed.

A map of road closures can be found on the City of Melbourne website.

Geelong, Ballarat, and Bendigo will also host NYE celebrations.


Brisbane will celebrate New Year’s Eve with two fireworks displays over South Bank.(Instagram: Brisbane City Council)

South Bank Parklands will once again play host to Brisbane’s New Year’s Eve celebrations, with the evening featuring two fireworks shows – one at 8:30pm for kids and another at midnight.

Recommended vantage points include the Clem Jones Promenade, Streets Beach, River Quay Green and Riverside Green, and the Cultural Forecourt.

The Regatta Hotel will also have its own 10-minute fireworks display at midnight.

On the Gold Coast, fireworks will light up the night sky in the following suburbs:

  • Kurrawa Park, Broadbeach — 8pm and midnight
  • Coolangatta Beach — 9pm and midnight
  • Coomera Sports Park — 8pm
  • Paradise Point Parklands — 9pm
  • Robina Town Centre Promenade — 10pm
  • Southport — 9pm
  • Surfers Paradise Foreshore — 8pm and midnight

Mooloolaba, Caloundra and Coolum on the Sunshine Coast will also host fireworks displays.


Fireworks are set to light up Elizabeth Quay in Perth.(Facebook: City of Perth)

Families in Perth will have an 8pm fireworks display at Elizabeth Quay with an adjoining free-entry fun fair open from 5pm.

Lord Mayor Basil Zempilas said the City of Perth would “mark the start of 2024 in Northbridge with the traditional fireworks at midnight“.


Adelaide’s NYE celebration will have live music, family fun, and food and drink offerings.(Instagram: City of Adelaide)

About 25,000 people are expected to attend Adelaide’s New Year’s Eve celebration at Elder Park/Murlawirrapurka.

The event is free with gates due to open to the public at 5:30pm — entry to the site will be closed once maximum capacity is reached.

The event will feature two fireworks shows at 9pm and midnight.


Hobart revellers will be treated to two fireworks displays.(Facebook: City of Hobart)

Fireworks will light up the night sky over the River Derwent this New Year’s Eve, with the City of Hobart presenting two fireworks displays across the evening — 9:30pm and midnight.

The best vantage points are expected to be from the Regatta Grounds, Parliament House Lawns and Princes Park.

Parking is free at the Regatta Grounds, with space for families to enjoy the fireworks from near the Cenotaph.


Canberra’s 15-minute fireworks display will be set to a synchronised soundtrack.(Facebook: Events ACT)

Canberra’s New Year’s Eve celebrations will take place on the shores of Lake Burley Griffin.

A 15-minute fireworks display will be launched from the central basin and Commonwealth Avenue Bridge at 9pm.

There will be three hub areas set up along the foreshore at Regatta Point, Commonwealth Place and Rond Terrace to provide the best vantage points.

All Transport Canberra bus and light rail services will be free from 5pm until the last service at approximately 1am on January 1, 2024.


The Top End will feature two fireworks displays at 9pm and midnight at Darwin Waterfront.

An afternoon of kids’ entertainment is planned, while for older partygoers local performers will perform throughout the night.

Three NYE-themed shows from Liquid Light will also entertain families and partygoers. The multimedia experience includes laser projection, water fountains, flames and animations.

Food vendors will be available onsite, or you can pack your own picnic.

Darwin will have two fireworks shows — why not stay for both?(Facebook: Darwin Waterfront)