Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Tasmania are easing COVID-19 travel restrictions — particularly if you live in Greater Sydney.

It comes after extended periods of no community transmission after recent coronavirus outbreaks.

Here’s a quick guide of the situation as it stands.

I want to go to…

Tap through to find out where you can travel to, depending on where you are travelling from:

New South Wales

NSW’s borders are currently open to every state and territory.


There are now no declared hotspots anywhere in the country.(ABC News: Jennifer Huxley)

From 1:00am on Monday, Queensland’s NSW border checkpoints will be taken down and the state will be open to travel from across the country.

Border declarations won’t be needed to enter the state because there are now no declared hot spots.

However, anyone who has been in the Greater Sydney region in the past 14 days will not be allowed into Queensland until 1:00am on Monday.

Interstate travellers in hotel quarantine will be free to leave as soon as the border opens, meaning some travellers won’t have to complete a full 14 days.


All interstate travellers require a permit to enter Victoria under the state’s travel permit system. It allows travel from “green zones” and “orange zones”, but not “red zones”.

From 6:00pm on Friday, the last “red zone” in New South Wales, Cumberland Council, will transition to an “orange zone”.

Travel from an “orange zone” requires people to self-isolate on arrival in Victoria, get tested within 72 hours of arrival and remain in quarantine until they receive a negative result.

Test results are usually sent within 24 hours.

Everywhere else in Australia is considered a “green zone”, which means people must watch and get tested if they have any symptoms at all following their arrival in the state.

Australian Capital Territory

The ACT Government will lift all travel restrictions between Canberra and Sydney from 3:00pm on Friday.

Travel is currently open to the ACT from every state and territory.

The Tasmanian restrictions on travellers from areas of Sydney will change on Sunday.(AAP: James Gourley)


Tasmania will remove the medium risk COVID-19 designation applying to 10 areas in Greater Sydney from Sunday, meaning there will be unrestricted travel again between Tasmania and the rest of the country.

The areas are Blacktown, Burwood, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Inner West, Liverpool, Parramatta and Strathfield.

Anyone who has spent time in these local government areas in the 14 days before their arrival in Tasmania will no longer be required to quarantine on arrival in Tasmania.

Western Australia

Travel to Western Australia from New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria is currently considered “low risk”.

That means if you’re travelling from these locations you will require a G2G pass and a health screen at Perth Airport.

You will also have to self-quarantine for 14 days if you have a suitable premises. It’s not suitable, you will have to enter an approved quarantine facility at your own expense.

WA also requires travellers to have a COVID-19 test on day 11 of isolation.

The ACT, Northern Territory, South Australia and Tasmania are deemed “very low risk”.

This means travellers still need to complete a G2G declaration, but you are not required to quarantine.

Restrictions will be removed altogether on visitors from regional NSW.(Instagram: two_young_nomads)

South Australia

Sydneysiders will be allowed to travel into South Australia for the first time in 2021 from Sunday, provided there are no new coronavirus cases in New South Wales.

From 12:01am on Sunday morning, anyone who has been in the Greater Sydney area since restrictions were imposed will be able to travel to South Australia and not have to quarantine.

Sydney, Wollongong and Central Coast residents have been banned from entering SA since a hard border was imposed on New Year’s Day, while South Australians returning home have had to do a 14-day quarantine on returning.

All travellers coming to South Australia need to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration.

Northern Territory

Everyone travelling to the Northern Territory is required to fill in an exemption form.

Anyone travelling from or through a declared hotspot in the past 14 days must quarantine.

The current active hotspots declared by the Northern Territory are all in NSW.

The hotspots include Blacktown, Burwood, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Inner West, Parramatta and Strathfield.