With coronavirus clusters in Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales seemingly under control, different states and territories have begun easing their coronavirus border restrictions.

Here are the various restrictions as they stand:

I want to go to …

Tap through to find out where you can travel to, depending on where you are travelling from:

New South Wales

NSW’s borders are open to every state and territory.

Previously, you couldn’t visit NSW if you had been to Queensland’s City of Brisbane, City of Ipswich, Lockyer Valley Region, Logan City, Moreton Bay Region, Redland City, Scenic Rim Region or Somerset Region since January 2.

However, NSW relaxed its borders after Greater Brisbane emerged from its three-day lockdown.

There are no restrictions on moving around within NSW, but the State Government has asked people to avoid non-essential travel to the regions, particularly Greater Sydneysiders.

That’s because most of NSW’s cases are concentrated within the Greater Sydney area, which includes the Blue Mountains, Central Coast and Wollongong.


Investigations are continuing into the spread of the UK variant at Brisbane’s Hotel Grand Chancellor.(ABC News: Jennifer King)

People who have visited a Greater Sydney hotspot within the past two weeks are not allowed to enter Queensland.

Areas include the Blue Mountains, City of Sydney, Central Coast, Wollongong, Parramatta, Northern Beaches and several more.

Anyone entering Queensland who has not been in a declared hotspot in the last 14 days but has been in New South Wales since December 11 must apply for a border pass.

Queensland residents returning home from a hotspot have to quarantine for 14 days in government-arranged accommodation at their own expense.

Visitors from other states and territories can enter Queensland without a border pass or quarantine period.


All interstate travellers will require a permit to enter Victoria under the state’s new travel permit system, which allows travel from “green zones” and “orange zones”.

Travellers from “orange zones” will be required to be tested within 72 hours of arrival and isolate until they receive a negative result.

The state has relaxed restrictions on travel from Queensland, downgrading Greater Brisbane from a “red zone” to an “orange zone”.

Victoria has downgraded Greater Brisbane to an “orange zone”.(ABC News: Brendan Esposito)

Greater Sydney, including Wollongong and the Blue Mountains, have also since been downgraded to an “orange zone”.

However, 10 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Greater Sydney remain a “red zone”.

They include: Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield City, Inner West, Liverpool City, Parramatta City and Strathfield Municipality.

The red zones will be under daily review.

All Local Government Areas (LGAs) in New South Wales’ border bubble are now green zones, meaning those who have visited these locations within the last 14 days will not be required to self-quarantine or get tested upon arrival.

They include: Albury City, Balranald Shire, Bega Valley Shire, Berrigan Shire, City of Broken Hill, Edward River Council, Federation Council, Greater Hume Shire, Hay Shire, Lockhart Shire, Murray River Council, Murrumbidgee Council, Snowy Monaro Regional Council, Snowy Valleys Council, City of Wagga Wagga, Wentworth Shire.

Australian Capital Territory

The ACT has announced people from Greater Brisbane will no longer need to quarantine in the capital.

It has also since removed the Central Coast, Wollongong and the Northern Beaches from their list of COVID-19 affected areas in New South Wales.

However, the ACT continues to classify 10 Sydney Local Government Areas as hotspots: Blacktown, Burwood, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Inner West, Liverpool, Paramatta and Strathfield.

Returning ACT residents who have been in these areas can return as long as they undertake a 14-day quarantine period.

All other NSW residents are free to go to the ACT without declaring travel or quarantining.


Greater Brisbane’s coronavirus risk rating will be scaled down from medium-risk to low-risk from 12:01am on January 22.

That means travellers from Greater Brisbane will no be longer required to quarantine at a suitable residence or government hotel at their own expense.

Twenty-four medium-risk areas in the Greater Sydney region, including Wollongong, will also move to low-risk areas.

The areas that remain as medium-risk are: Blacktown, Burwood, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Inner West, Liverpool, Parramatta and Strathfield.

Those who have been in one of the 10 remaining medium-risk areas in the 14 days prior to arrival in Tasmania will be required to undertake 14 days quarantine, unless they are an approved essential traveller.

The state of Victoria has been deemed a low-risk location, meaning travellers do not need to quarantine upon arrival.

Western Australia

WA, a state with some of the strictest border rules, will reclassify Victoria as “low-risk”.(ABC News: Tabarak Al Jrood)

Western Australia has moved to a controlled border with Victoria, with the state now reclassified as “low-risk”.

It means people can enter the state without needing a special exemption, but they will still be required to self-quarantine for a fortnight and get a COVID-19 test.

Anyone coming from Victoria who has been in, or travelled through, a medium-risk jurisdiction in the past 14 days will not be able to enter WA without an exemption.

Travel from anywhere within Victoria or NSW is not permitted either unless the person is exempt — for example, they are a diplomat or military personnel.

People from the Australian Capital Territory, Northern Territory, South Australia and Tasmania can visit, as long as they fill in a form and complete a health screening on arrival.

South Australia

Anyone who wants to go to South Australia has to fill in a form, known as the Cross Border Travel Registration.

South Australia has removed its quarantine requirements for travellers from Greater Brisbane who arrive in the state, but those who have been in “high-risk locations” will still be required to continue quarantine.

Travellers from the Greater Sydney, Wollongong and Central Coast are prohibited from entering SA unless they are an essential traveller or an exempt person, while people from the rest of NSW may travel but need to have a COVID-19 test on days one, five and 12.

Premier Steven Marshall said the border restrictions would be eased at 12:01am on January 31, provided New South Wales records no new locally transmitted infections.

The SA Government says the travel ban does not include people escaping domestic violence, people who normally live in South Australia and those relocating to South Australia.

If a person lives within 100 kilometres of the NSW and South Australian border, they’re free to travel anywhere within SA as long as they haven’t been anywhere else in NSW during the past two weeks.

Northern Territory

The Top End is open to all subject to filling out an exemption form, but anyone who has been in a hotspot must quarantine at their own expense.(ABC News: Jane Bardon)

Everyone headed to the Northern Territory is required to fill in an exemption form.

But people who have been to a COVID-19 hotspot must go into mandatory supervised quarantine at their own cost ($2,500) upon arrival.

The NT’s declared hotspots include: Blacktown City, Burwood, Canada Bay City, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield City, Inner West, Liverpool City, Parramatta City and Strathfield Municipality.

The NT Government has revoked its hotspot declaration for Greater Brisbane.

That means people who have been in Queensland’s capital and its surrounds no longer need to quarantine in the NT.